Al Duhail Defeats to Al Rayyan & Regains the League Lead…

Our first team of football regained the QNB Stars League top spot after defeating Al Rayyan by four goals to three in the Round 15 postponed match which kicked-off today at 09:45 in Abdullah bin Khalifa Stadium. With this win Al Duhail reached 45 points jumping over Al Arabi.

Despite being late early in the first half, Al Duhail managed to end it in the lead by two goals to one. Al Rayyan scored first at the 25th minute by Yohan Boli, however our player Khaled Mohamed scored the equalizer at the 37th minute from a shot inside the penalty area and then Ferjani Sassi gave Al Duhail the lead scoring the second goal at the second minute of added time from a header meeting the cross by Al Moez Ali.

In the second half, Al Duhail continued their offensive pressure looking for the third goal, missing many opportinites until the 75th minute when the referee awarded our team a penalty after Bassam Al Rawi has been tackled inside the penalty area, which was executed by our striker Michael Olunga.

At the 80th minute, Al Rayyan scored their second goal by Soufian Boufal. Al Moez Ali had another opinion when received the ball and dribbled through Al Rayyan defense line scoring the fourth goal at the 83rd minute. At the 94th minute Al Rayyan scored gain their third goal by the same player Soufian Boufal

Match Card
Date & Time: Tuesday 18 April 2023 – 09:45 pm
Venue: Abdullah bin Khalifa
Occasion: QNB Stars League – Round 15 Postponed Fixture
Teams: Al Duhail vs Al Rayyan
First Half Result: 2 – 1
Match Result: 4 – 3 (Al Duhail)
Goals: Yohan Boli (25th Minute – Al Rayyan), Khaled Mohamed (37th minute), Ferjani Sassi (45+3 minute), Michael Olunga (76th minute), Soufian Boufal (80th and 94th minutes – Al Rayyan), Al Moez Ali (83rd minute)
Yellow Cards: Luiz Martin, Al Moez Ali
Red Cards: None

Team Start List: Salah Zakaria, Mohamed Moussa, Youseef Ayman, Ruben Semedo, Bassam Al Rawi, Karim Boudiaf, Luiz Martin (Asem Madibo), Ferjani Sassi, Khaled Mohamed (Ismail Mohamed), Al Moez Ali, Michael Olunga.

Substitutes: Mohamed Al Bakri, Shehab Al Laithie, Ismail Mohamed, Ahmed Moein, Diyab Haroon, Mohammed Muntari, Abdulaziz Mohamed, Ahmed Riyadh, Asem Madibo, Federico Fernandez, Suhaib Gannan.