Al Duhail loses to Al Wakra…

The team is stuck at 17 points after their loss in the postponed match from the sixth round in the Expo Stars League, which brought them together with the Al Wakra at 05:30 pm today at Abdullah bin Khalifa Stadium, by three goals to two, making the team occupy fifth in the overall league table.

The team succeeded in opening the scoring in the seventh minute through defender Youssef Ayman, after a cross ball entered the penalty area from Philippe Coutinho. Al Wakra defense did not succeed in clearing it, but it bounced off the post and found Youssef Ayman, who played it into the net.

In the 27th minute, Al Wakra was able to equalize the score with a goal scored by striker Jacinto Dala with a shot from inside the penalty area.

In the last minute of stoppage time, the referee awarded a penalty kick after Khaled Mohamed was obstructed inside the area, from which Philippe Coutinho scored the second goal in the minute (45+14), after which the referee blew his whistle, announcing the end of the first half.

In the second half, the strong performance by both teams continued, as Al Duhail entered the field looking to consolidate its lead, while Al Wakra tried to return to the match again, which they succeeded in in the 74th minute by their player Omar Ali with a shot from inside the penalty area, and in the 77th minute Hamdi Fathi scored the third goal for Al Wakra with a shot from outside the penalty area.

Match Card:
Date & Time: Sunday 17 Dec 2023 – 05:30 pm
Venue: Abdullah bin Khalifa Stadium
Ocassion: Expo Stars League
Teams: Al Duhail – Al Wakra
First Half Result: 2 – 1 (Al Duhail)
Match Result: 2 – 3 (Al Wakra)
Goals: Youssef Ayman (7th minute), Jacinto Dala (27 minute – Al Wakra), Coutinho (45+14 minute), Omar Ali (74th minute – Al Wakra), Hamdi Fathi (77th minute – Al Wakra)
Yellow Cards: Ruben Semedo, Al Moez Ali, Kim Moon-Huan
Red Cards: None
Starting 11: Salah Zakaria, Youssef Ayman, Ruben Semedo (Mohamed Moussa), Kim Moon-Huan (Lotfi Madjer), Sultan Al Brake, Luiz Martin (Isaac Lihadj), Khaled Mohamed, Al Moez Ali, Suhaib Gannan (Mohamed Muntari), Ismail Mohamed, Philippe Coutinho (Fares Said).

Substitutes: Mohamed Said, Shehab Al Laithi, Mohamed Moussa, Abdulaziz Mohamed, Isaac Lihadj, Lotfi Madjer, Fares Said, Mohamed Muntari, Jassem Al Mheiri, Abdulhamid Sebaei.