Thrilling Victory Secures Quarter-Final Berth in Amir Cup

In a thrilling encounter, the team claimed a hard-fought victory over Al Shamal by a score of 3-1 to secure their place in the quarter-finals of the Amir Cup. The match, held at Al Janoub Stadium on Monday evening, saw both teams showcase their attacking prowess and defensive resilience.

First Half: A Tale of Two Strikes

The opening half commenced with a flurry of chances, with both teams eager to break the deadlock. Al Shamal struck first in the 39th minute through Ricardo Gomes, who capitalized on a well-placed shot from inside the penalty area. However, the team’s lead was short-lived, as Al Duhail leveled the score in the second minute of stoppage time. The equalizer came from a penalty converted by Coutinho after Ibrahima Kader was fouled inside the box.

Second Half: A Surge of Goals

The second half commenced with renewed determination from both sides. The team took the lead in the 52nd minute through Ismail Mohamed, who capitalized on a deflected effort to fire a shot past Al Shamal goalkeeper. The goal injected a surge of energy into the team, and they continued to press for further advantage.

Their efforts were rewarded in the 87th minute when Michael Olunga put the match to bed with a clinical finish. Olunga intercepted a stray pass from Al Shamal defense and unleashed a powerful shot from outside the penalty area, finding the back of the net to seal the victory.


Match card:
When: Monday, 06 May 2024.
Location: Al Janoub Stadium.
Occasion: Round of 16 – Amir Cup 2024.
Competing teams: Al Duhail vs Al Shamal.
First half result: 1 – 1.
Match result: 3 – 1 (Al Duhail).
Goals: Ricardo Gomes (39th minute – Al Shamal), Phillipe Coutinho (45+2 minute), Ismail Mohamed (52nd minute), Michael Olunga (87th minute).
Yellow cards: None
Red Cards: None
Team lineup: Salah Zakaria, Ismail Mohamed (Tahseen Mohamed), Youssef Ayman, Mohamed Moussa, Ibrahima Kader (Isaac Lehadj), Sultan Al Brake, Karim Boudiaf (Asim Madibou, Ibrahima Diallo, Phillipe Coutinho (Abdulhafiz Badawi), Al Moez Ali, Michael Olunga.
Substitutes: Shehab Al Laithie, Mohamed Said, Luiz Martin, Isaac Lehadj, Asim Madibou, Suhaib Gannan, Abdulhamid Sebaei, Rashed Al Abdullah, Tahseen Mohamed, Abdulhafiz Badawi, Al Hamza Nasr.