Dramatic Comeback Sends Title Holders Packing as Al Duhail Advances to Semis of Most Prestigious Tournament…

Our first team of football overturned a two-goal deficit to Al Arabi to claim a thrilling 3-2 victory in the quarterfinal clash of the Amir Cup at Al Janoub Stadium this evening, securing their place in the semifinal round of the tournament.

Youssef Msakni opened the scoring for Al Arabi in the third minute, before Michael Olunga restored parity for the team just five minutes later with a towering header from Al Moez cross.

Al Arabi regained the lead in the 10th minute through a long-range effort from Msakni, capitalizing on Salah Zakaria off-his-line position.

Undeterred, our team fought back once again, tying level in the 25th minute through Coutinho, who capitalized on Al Moez persistence and close-range pass to find the back of the net.

The team continued to press for the winner, with Ismail squandering a golden opportunity when his shot struck the post, while Olunga’s header narrowly missed the target.

In the second half, the team maintained their attacking momentum, and their persistence paid off in the 59th minute when Michael Olunga completed a well-worked team move, turning home Coutinho pass from Ismail with a deft right-footed finish.

Match card:
When: Monday, 13 May 2024.
Location: Al Janoub Stadium.
Occasion: Quarterfinal Round – Amir Cup 2024.
Competing teams: Al Duhail vs Al Arabi.
First half result: 2 – 2.
Match result: 3 – 2 (Al Duhail).
Goals: Youssef Mesakni (3rd and 10th minutes – Al Arabi), Phillipe Coutinho (25th minute), Michael Olunga (8th and 59th minutes).
Yellow cards: Al Moez Ali, Ibrahima Kader, Khaled Mohamed Saleh
Red Cards: None
Team lineup: Salah Zakaria, Ismail Mohamed, Lucas Verissimio, Youssef Ayman, Ibrahima Kader (Mohamed Moussa), Sultan Al Brake, Karim Boudiaf (Asim Madibou), Phillipe Coutinho (Khaled Mohamed Saleh), Al Moez Ali, Michael Olunga.
Substitutes: Shehab Al Laithie, Mohamed Said, Mohamed Moussa, Luiz Martin, Isaac Lehadj, Asim Madibou, Suhaib Gannan, Abdulhamid Sebaei, Rashed Al Abdullah, Tahseen Mohamed, Abdulhafiz Badawi.